International Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia is a United Nations court of law which was established in 1993 by the UN Security Council Resolution 827. The ad hoc Tribunal was established to prosecute serious war crimes committed during Yugoslav Wars and is located in Hague, Netherlands. The Tribunal has jurisdiction over four clusters; grave breaches of Geneva Conventions, violations of the laws or customs of war, genocide, and crimes against humanity.

The main purpose of the ICTY is to try individuals who perpetrated crimes listed in the ICTY Statute such as torture, rape, enslavement, destruction of property and other crimes.

Being the first war crimes court created by the UN, the Tribunal aims to respond to mass atrocities which took place in Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina by giving a voice to the victims of aggression, torture and sexual abuse.

The ICTY has charged over 160 persons including heads of state, prime ministers, army chiefs of staff, interior ministers and many other high and mid-level political, military and police leaders from various parties to the Yugoslav conflicts. Its indictments address crimes committed from 1991-2001.

Responsible Under Secretary General

Simay Demir –

President Judge

Mustafa Safa Akbulut

International Criminal Tribunal For The Former Yugoslavia Study Guide
Rules of Procedure